Compacting email folders is a critical part of maintaining your email program. When you delete an email, it’s not really deleted from your email program’s storage file. It’s simply marked as "deleted" so that it can be recovered if needed, or overwritten as part of compacting the email folders.
That’s what compacting the email folders does — it rewrites the computer file that stores the email messages, and omits the emails that are marked as deleted.
Longtime subscriber Janet was having problems recently with Thunderbird, and wrote me for help:
I’m using Mozilla Thunderbird as my email provider on my laptop, Windows 7
Lately every little bit a message wants to compact. I delete all my trash, but how can I get rid of things I delete off my computer? What needs to be compacted if I delete it off?
I wrote back to Janet to understand which problem she was having. I asked if she was getting the message again and again after she lets Thunderbird compact? Or was she getting the messages because she was not letting Thunderbird compact the email folders.
I let Thunderbird compact it. Yes, I get it again and again. Are the deleted compacted messages saved somewhere?
No, the deleted messages that are discarded in the compacting process not saved. I suggested that she read one of my earlier articles on compacting: http://www.terryscomputertips.com/computers/compacting-email-folders/
If you get a lot of videos or pictures by email, and delete them after viewing/watching, this will trigger compacting faster – because the deleted emails were bigger.
You can change Thunderbird’s compacting setting to a larger size, which will also help in delaying the frequency of compacting.
Tools > Options > Advanced > Network & Disk Space
In the Disk Space section, change the number beside "Compact folders when it will save over____MB"
Thanks, I’ll try that.